August 22, 2018
Washington, DC

Republicans, including President Trump, have long called for strong welfare reform, including work requirements. As the House and Senate work through the conference negotiations on the 2018 Farm Bill, we urge conferees to maintain a policy of conditioning benefits under the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), otherwise known as food stamps, to limited work requirements for able-bodied adults without dependents (ABAWDs).

According to the Heritage Foundation, the ABAWD caseload for SNAP benefits has more than doubled over the past decade, rising from 1.9 million in 2008 to 4.2 million today. Spending on the program has also doubled in the last decade to approximately $73 billion annually.

Though limited work requirements exist in current law, the amount of state waivers in place has rendered them effectively meaningless. Given this, as well as the fiscal and policy benefits associated with work requirements for ABAWDs, we urge conferees to give this policy due consideration.

Previous work requirement initiatives, specifically those added to the Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) program, have been successful at expediting the return of assistance recipients to the workforce, and removing incentives that discourage individuals from seeking full-time employment. According to the National Taxpayers Union, these reforms have been associated with higher incomes, declining child poverty, and an increased number of single women in the workforce.

Moreover, in places where these policies have been tried, they have succeeded. In July 2014, Maine announced it would no longer grant waivers from work requirements for ABAWDs. In a few months, Maine’s ABAWD caseload dropped 80 percent, with many individuals choosing to be removed from the SNAP rolls rather than participate in work programs.

According to analysis by the Heritage Foundation, policies similar to Maine’s could save taxpayers nearly $10 billion per year. Not only is this sound fiscal policy, it encourages individuals to take ownership of their own futures – the first step toward a successful welfare-to-work outcome. Americans understand this. In 2012, a Rasmussen poll found that 83 percent of American adults supported work requirements in exchange for welfare benefits.

Congress has a chance to make significant reforms to our welfare system that have a positive fiscal impact, while helping individuals make meaningful progress toward independence. We urge the Farm Bill conferees to include sound policy of work requirements for SNAP benefits.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III
Former Attorney General
President Ronald Reagan

The Honorable Bob McEwen
U.S. House of Representatives
Former Member, Ohio
William L. Walton
CNP Action, Inc.
The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Former Chief Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan
Ed Corrigan
Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project & Former Executive Director, Senate Steering Committee
Rachel Bovard
Former Policy Director
Senate Steering Committee
David Bozell
The Honorable Colin A. Hanna
Let Freedom Ring, Inc.
Jenny Beth Martin
Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund
The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Constitutional Congress, Inc.
Rebecca Hagelin
Council for National Policy
Sherri R. Martin
Executive Vice President
The Martin Organization, Inc.
Shawn A. Mitchell
Former National Chaplain
National Federation of Republican Assemblies (NFRA)
Evelio Silvera
Campaign for the American Future
Phil Kerpen
American Commitment
Seton Motley
Less Government

James R. Waters
CEO, Bluegrass Institute for Public Policy Solutions

Bob Adams
Revive America PAC
Anne Schlafly Cori
Eagle Forum
William Shaker
Washington Marketing Group
E.C. Sykes
Managing Director
Aslan Ventures
Peter J. Thomas
The Consernative Caucus
Lewis K. Uhler
National Tax Limitation Committee
Susan A. Carleson
Chairman & CEO
American Civil Rights Union
David N. Bossie
Citizens United
Caroline C. Lewis
Percipio Communications
C. Preston Noell III
Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.
Melvin Adams
Past President
Steve Berger
Grace Chapel
Robert Alt
President & CEO
The Buckeye Institute
Marcia G. Taylor
Bennett Int. Group, LLC.
Darrel W. Johnson
Attic Corporation
The Honorable Tim Echols
Georgia Public Service Commission
Sal Russo
Co-Founder and Chief Strategist
Tea Party Express
The Honorable Mike Spence
Founding President
Conservative Republicans of California
Peggy Dau
Activist for persecuted Christians
Iran Alive
Dr. Jerome R. Corsi, Ph.D.
Founder and CEO,
JRC Publishing LLC
Dr. Richard Rounsavelle
Media Research Center
Kayla Moore
Foundation for Moral Law
The Honorable Penny Pullen
Former Representative
Illinois General Assembly
The Honorable Mike Hill
Former Member
Florida State House
William W. Pascoe, III
Board Member
Tea Party Patriots Action
The Honorable Belden Bell
CoChair-Legacy Society
The Heritage Foundation
Saulius ‘Saul’ Anuzis
60 Plus Association
Gregory Quinlan
The Center for Garden State Families
Mrs. Lisa Calvert
Christian Speaker
Rabon-Calvert Interests
Suzanne Hudgens
Tea Party Activist

Alfred S. Regnery
Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Chairman, Law Enforcement Legal Defense Fund
Tim Chapman
Heritage Action for America
Adam Brandon
The Honorable Jim DeMint
U.S. Senate
Former Member, South Carolina
Wesley Denton
Former Communications Director
Senator Jim DeMint (SC)

Cleta Mitchell, Esq.
Foley & Lardner LLP
The Honorable David McIntosh
Club for Growth
The Honorable Tony Perkins
President, Family Research Council
President, Council for National Policy
The Honorable Ken Cuccinelli
Senate Conservatives Fund
L. Brent Bozell, III
Founder and President
Media Research Center
Rod D. Martin
Founder and CEO
The Martin Organization, Inc.
Haley E. Martin
The Martin Foundation
Jerry Melvin
Former Dean
Florida House of Representatives

Tom Giovanetti
Institute for Policy Innovation (IPI)
Dr. Mitch Pearlstein
Founder & Senior Fellow
Center of the American Experiment
The Honorable Charles J. Cooper
Former Assistant Attorney General, President Ronald Reagan
Cooper & Kirk PLLC
Richard D. Hayes
Hayes, Berry, White & Vanzant KLP

Tim LeFever
Capitol Resource Institute
The Honorable Tim Huelskamp, Ph.D.
The Heartland Institute
Kim Bengard
Business Owner
It Takes A Family Foundation
The Honorable James C. Miller III
Former Budget Director
Reagan Alumni
The Honorable Morton Blackwell
The Weyrich Lunch
The Honorable Tom DeLay
Former Majority Leader
U.S.House of Representatives
Allen Hebert
American-Chinese Fellowship of Houston
Roxanne Phillips
Member, Executive Committee
Council for National Policy
Chad Connelly
Faith Wins
Dan Weber
President, Association of Mature American Citizens (AMAC)
Floyd Brown
Western Center for Journalism
Lee Beaman
Beaman Automotive
Christopher Malagisi
Editor in Chief
Conservative Book Club
Col. Francis X De Luca USMC(Ret)
President Emeritus
Civitas Institute
Michelle Easton
President, Clare Boothe Luce Center for Conservative Women
Robert K. Fischer
Meeting Coordinator
Conservatives of Faith
Charlie Copeland
Intercollegiate Studies Institute
Willes K. Lee
President, National Federation of Republican Assemblies

Nancy Schulze
Republican Congressional Wives Speakers
Robert D. Thompson
Former Administrator
The Weyrich Lunch
Jason S. Jones
HERO, Inc.
Sean Noble
American Encore
Russell Ramsland, Jr.
Founder, Park Cities/Preston Hollow Leadership Forum

The Honorable Gary L. Bauer
American Values
James Clymer
Former National Chairman
Constitution Party National Committee
James L. Martin
60 Plus Association
Charlie Gerow
Quantum Communications
Joe R. Calvert
Rabon-Calvert Interests
Martha Boneta

(All organizations listed for IDENTIFICATION purposes only)