EF Twitter
View Eagle Forum Press Releases
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: February 20, 2008

CONTACT: Larry Hart, 202-262-1168

CPAC Pleased to Present Annual
Ronald Reagan Award to Jessica Echard

ALEXANDRIA, VA — Jessica Echard was named the winner of the Ronald Reagan Award at the recent Conservative Political Action Conference (CPAC). Conference Chairman David Keene said the purpose of the award is to recognize, not the generals of the conservative movement, but the foot soldiers.

"The winners of this award, our highest honor, are not household names, but the men and women working in the trenches who sacrifice, and in so doing set an example for others," Keene said. "Jessica Echard exemplifies these qualities."

Echard is the Executive Director of Eagle Forum, a conservative grassroots organization founded by Phyllis Schlafly in 1972. A 2003 Phi Beta Kappa graduate of Marietta College in Ohio, Echard has been in her present position since January 2005 after serving in other positions at Eagle Forum and is a native of Glenville, West Virginia where her parents still reside.

Keene said Echard has shown leadership qualities from the day she came to Washington, receiving the Distinguished Service Award from then Senator Rick Santorum for her participation in the "39-hour "Justice for Judges Marathon" in support of President Bush's judicial nominees in 2003. Overseeing public policy action at the federal level for Eagle Forum, Echard has helped form coalitions with pro-family groups on a wide range of issues, including abortion, immigration and the sanctity of marriage.

Echard said, "I am truly honored and surprised to receive CPAC's Ronald Reagan Award. Defeating the Senate amnesty bill last year was a tremendous victory for grassroots Americans and I was thrilled to be a part of it. The conservative movement is strongest when we stick to principles and stand up for the grassroots. That is what we did and we won."

The Ronald Reagan Award was presented on February 8, 2008. The award includes a $10,000 cash stipend. Past recipients include Mark Levin of Landmark Legal Foundation, Manual Miranda and Susette Kelo of the notorious Supreme Court eminent domain case and Jennifer Gratz of the Michigan Civil Rights Initiative.


CPAC is a project of the American Conservative Union Foundation, in association with Young America's Foundation and Human Events. The conference is cosponsored by over 90 of the nation's leading conservative organizations. For continued updates on the program or to register online, visit

Google Ads are provided by Google and are not selected or endorsed by Eagle Forum
Eagle Forum 200 West 3rd St. • Alton, IL 62002 phone: 618-433-8990